Yahoo users who have received email messages like the one below, asking them to upgrade their accounts or else they will lose them, are asked to delete the same email messages. This is because the emails are phishing scams being sent by cybercriminals to trick Yahoo users into visiting a fake website that will steal their account usernames and passwords.
Please continue below.
The “Yahoo Classic Email Upgrade to Newest Version” Phishing Scam
Subject: Newest version of your email
Date: On Thursday, November 2, 2017, 3:57 PM,
From: Yahoo! <[email protected]>
The Classic version of your Mail will be replaced by our new version on 3rd November 2017. So it’s time to upgrade, before you lose your email access.
Protecting your information is important to us and we work continuously to strengthen our defenses against the threats targeting our Financial Institution.
Thanks for choosing Yahoo! Inc.®
Remember, never click on a link to sign into your Yahoo account, always go directly to https://mail.yahoo.com and sign-in from there instead. Once you have signed in, you will be notified of an upgrade or important changes if there are any.
For Yahoo users who have already been tricked, they may attempt to change their passwords immediately before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently. If their accounts have already been hijacked, they may click here for help regaining access to them.
Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.
Remember to forward malicious or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: [email protected] .
Write Your Comment, Question or Review