Beware of “Microsoft Delete and Close Your Account” Phishing Scam

Security News ThreatsCybercrime Uncategorized
Edit

Beware of "Microsoft Delete and Close Your Account" Phishing Scam

Microsft users who have received emails like the one below, which claim that instructions to empty all their Inbox and Sent Folders, and to delete or close their account have been received, is a phishing scam. The scam has been created by cybercriminals to steal Microsoft Outlook or Hotmail usernames and passwords, by tricking potential victims into visiting a fake Microsoft website.

Please continue below.

The “Microsoft Delete & Close Your Account” Phishing Scam

From: Microsoft Team <[email protected]>

Date: November 3, 2017 at 4:28:14 AM CDT

To: Microsoft account <[email protected]>

Subject: REQUEST CONFIRMATION

Security Information

Hello User,

We received your instruction to empty all your Inbox and Sent Folders

We will Delete & Close Your Account Within 2 hours

You need to confirm if you made this request or we will continue with the request.

If you think it is an error, take action immediately to stop this process.

CANCEL & STOP ACTION NOW

Thank You,

Accounts Team

The link in the email message goes to a fake Microsoft Outlook or Microsoft website, which will ask potential victims to sign-in. But, any attempt to sign-in will result in the potential victims’ account credentials being sent to the cyber-criminals behind the scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts and use them maliciously or fraudulently.

Microsoft users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead go directly to their email accounts at www.outlook.com, www.live.com, or www.hotmail.com and sign-in from there. After signing in, if there is something wrong with their accounts, it will be shown to them.

Microsoft users who have already been tricked are asked to change their Microsoft Hotmail/Live/Outlook password immediately. If they are unable to do so, they may click here for help regaining access to their accounts.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward malicious or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: [email protected] .

Would you recommend this article to a friend or family member?
Yes (0) No (0)   

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

https://www.onlinethreatalerts.com/article/2017/11/3/beware-of-microsoft-delete-and-close-your-account-phishing-scam/

Tagged